Characteristics for the Occurrence of a High-Current Z-Pinch Aurora as Recorded in Antiquity (Part 2)



(You’ll receive a link in an email confirmation)

Part 2

Abstract—The discovery that objects from the Neolithic or Early Bronze Age carry patterns associated with high-current Z-pinches provides a possible  insight into the origin and meaning of these ancient symbols produced by humans. Part I deals with the comparison of graphical and radiation data from highcurrent Z-pinches to petroglyphs, geoglyphs, and megaliths.

Part I focused primarily, but not exclusively, on petroglyphs of some 84 different  morphologies: pictures found in laboratory experiments and carved on rock. These corresponded to mankind’s visual observations of ancient aurora as might be produced if the solar wind had increased (T. Gold) at times between one and two orders of magnitude, millennia ago.

Part II focuses on the source of light and its temporal change from a current-increasing Z-pinch or dense-plasma-focus aurora. Orientation and field-of-view data are given as surveyed and contributed from 139 countries, from sites and fields containing several millions of these objects. This information allows a reconstruction of the auroral form presumably associated with extreme geomagnetic storms and shows, based on existent geophysical evidence, plasma flow inward at Earth’s south polar axis.

Index Terms—Archaeoastronomy, aurora, dense plasma focus (DPF), global information systems, magnetohydrodynamic (MHD) instability, petroglyph, plasma, plasma universe, Z-pinch.

In stock


Anthony L. Peratt (S’60–M’63–SM’85–F’99) received the B.S.E.E. degree from California State Polytechnic University, Pomona, in 1964, and the M.S.E.E. degree and the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Southern California (USC), Los Angeles, 1967 and 1971, respectively. From 1972 to 1979, he was a Staff Member with the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Livermore, CA. From 1975 to 1977, he was a Guest Physicist with the Max Planck Institut für Plasmaphysik, Garching, Germany.

From 1981 to the present, he as been with the Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, NM. In 1985, he was a Guest Scientist with the Alfvén Laboratory, Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden. From 1995 to 1999, he was with the Applied Theoretical Physics Division, Physics Division, Associate Laboratory Directorate for Experimental Programs, and he was a Scientific Advisor to the U.S. Department of Energy. He authored Physics of the Plasma Universe (Berlin,Germany: Springer-Verlag, 1992), and was an Editor on Plasma Astrophysics and Cosmology (Norwell, MA: Kluwer, 1995) and Advanced Topics in Space and Astrophysical Plasmas (Norwell, MA: Kluwer, 1997). He has served as session organizer for space plasmas at the IEEE International Confernce on Plasma Science from 1987–1989.

His research interests include numerical and experimental contributions to high-energy density plasmas and intense particle beams, inertial confinement fusion, explosively-driven pulsed power generators, lasers, intense-power-microwave sources, particles, high-energy density phenomena, new concepts in space propulsion and high-performance computing, plasma cosmogony, and cosmology.

Dr. Peratt was the Guest Editor for the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON PLASMA SCIENCE Special Issues on Space Plasmas in 1986, 1989, 1990, 1992, 2000, and 2003. He was the organizer of the IEEE International Workshops on Space Plasmas in 1989, 1991, 1993, 1995–1998, and 2003. He has been an Associate Editor with the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON PLASMA SCIENCE sinc 1989. He was an Elected member of the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Science Society (NPSS) Executive Committee (ExCom) from 1987 to 1989 and from 1995 to 1997. He was
the General Chairman of the IEEE International Conference on Plasma Science, Santa Fe, New Mexico, in 1994. He was the IEEE NPSS ExCom Vice Chairman and was elected to the IEEE NPSS Administrative Committee, both in 1997. He received the U.S. Department of Energy Distinguished Performance Award in both 1987 and 1999, the IEEE Distinguished Lecturer Award in 1993, and was a Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, University of Oslo Physics Department, and Norsk Hydro Kristian Birkeland Lecturer in 1995. He is a member of the American Physical Society, American Astronomical Society, and Eta Kappa Nu.

Additional information




There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.